Tuesday, January 03, 2006

Great Indian Turf - Norms (Part 1)

On learning the news that our esteemed MPs were caught in a sting operation every one is outraged.. from a normal man(aam aadmi) to the Speaker of the Lok sabha.. Well do they also have a speaker for the rajya sabha? Well who cares.. personally i would prefer one guy for both the houses. At least that makes them one guy less we need to feed from the tax payers money..

Anyway, talking about outrage, every one had their own reasons.. Generally aam aadmi is outraged because, he is supposed to be outraged at these instances.. He knows very well that politicians are corrupt and these things are quite normal. And if he needs his own work get done (wether its a legally permitted or otherwise) he will pay his due to the babus. Now one may ask then why the hell is he outraged.. Come on dont be stupid.. He is supposed to be outraged. Thats the norm.. just like paying bribes...

And political leaders are outraged becos, you cant be so stupid and gullible and a politician.. If i were a politician, i would follow the norms(taking bribes and be corrupt etc) and also be a smart ass enough not to get caught.. Getting caught is not condoned, especially in politics.. If you are caught, you are putting the whole party in a soup. But of course there is a standard repartee for such situations.. The other party (read opponent party) has no moral right to raise the finger as they themselves were in such a soup some time ago and will be in soup in times to come..

You all may recall Advani strongly condemning the MPs who has taken bribes but felt that taking their chair (read constituencies from BJP count) is not justifiable.. May be as an extension to the horse trading law which passed some years ago, (what was that law? can anyone name it?) which says you cannot switch parties once you win a MP/MLA seat. Well talking about extension to that law,, the particular seat remains in the name of the said party which has won it and MPs may come and go based on their deeds /dads & karma.

Last but not least,, the poor chaps who are caught and the subjects of our discussion are the ones who are most outraged of the lot.. Yeah yeah i am talking abt the poor MPs who got caught taking paltry bribes.. (I wonder, why they stooped so low.. i mean 10 to 30 K rupees is too low.. come on. Mera Bharath mahaan.. so keep her shaan and take more money.. I don't remember new lok sabha searts / rajya sabha seats being created.. why to reduce the rates.. anyways)


They are wondering,, what the heck. every one takes bribes.. And after all we have taken such a small amounts for benign cause.. Just for asking questions.. National security is not at stake.. So whats the ehck? I mean what the heck?

Well, my friends (i am addressing the poor MPs who got laid or should i say laid off), you obviously fail to see the norms here.. Its perfectly ok to take bribes and everyone of us is ok with that fact.. Come on life's like that.. But what is not a norm is to get video taped of that fact.. We Indians are by nature closed door people.. We don't do many things in public. For eg. kissing is a taboo.. (in public.. ) every one of us know it happens.. Its a norm.. but what is not a norm is that you don't pose before a camera and say cheese and then kiss.. Those who fail to seek the norms and act upon it, do it at their own peril..

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home